Girls' Generation

Official Website

Girls' Generation (소녀시대; 少女時代) is a nine-member South Korean girl group formed by SM Entertainment in 2007. The nine members are: Taeyeon (the leader), Jessica, Sunny, Tiffany, Hyoyeon, Yuri, Sooyoung, Yoona, and Seohyun . They are often referred to as SoShi (소시), or SNSD (mainly outside Korea), the first of which is an abbreviation and the second an acronym of the group's Korean name So Nyeo Shi Dae (or So Nyuh Shi Dae). In China, they are known as 少女時代 (Shàonǚ Shídài; or Siu Nui Si Doi in Hong Kong) and in Japan as 少女時代 (Shōjo Jidai).

The group has released two full albums, two mini-albums, and various singles. Their 2009 hit single "Gee" holds the record for being the longest running #1 song on KBS's Music Bank, having held the #1 chart ranking for 9 consecutive weeks.[1] That year also saw the group winning various awards, including consecutive Artist of the Year (Daesang) awards at the Seoul Music Awards, Golden Disk Awards, Melon Music Awards, and the Korean Cultural Entertainment Awards.

The group began a foray into the Japanese music scene in late 2010, with the Japanese remakes of their 2009 Korean hits "Gee" and "Tell Me Your Wish (Genie)".[2] In Japan they are under the label Nayutawave Records, a part of Universal Music. Late 2010, So Nyeo Shi Dae released the mini-album Hoot, which won various awards. In 2011, Girls' Generation entered the Japan's market with the double a-side single Mr.Taxi/Run Devil Run. Later, the group released a brand new japanese album, which contains twelve songs including hits like Bad Girl and The Great Escape.

The members were professionally trained primarily in singing, dancing and languages while a select few were also underwent further training in acting and modeling. Many of the members had already made appearances in magazine ads, television commercials, and small television appearances. For nearly two years, Korean websites speculated about which female SM Entertainment trainees would be placed into the group.

Taeyeon- Leader, Main Vocalist
Jessica - 2nd Main Vocalist
Sunny - 3rd Lead Vocalist, 3rd Lead Dancer
Tiffany - 2nd Lead Vocalist, Rapper
Hyoyeon - Main Dancer, Sub-Vocalist, Rapper
Yuri - 2nd Main Dancer, Sub-Vocalist, Rapper
Sooyoung - Main Rapper, Sub-Vocalist, 2nd Lead Dancer
Yoona - Visual, Rapper, Sub-Vocalist, 1st Lead Dancer
Seohyun- 1st Lead Vocalist, 4th Lead Dancer

  goKPOP  ·  © 2017